AEF Who We Are

 AEF-Who We Are
     The Alhambra Educational Foundation is comprised of people just like you — parents, community members, business owners and managers, teachers and staff — who are dedicated to enhancing our students’ educational opportunities for all of Alhambra USD’s schools. As the official fundraising partner of AUSD, AEF raises funds to provide and enhance educational programs and curriculum at all schools, K-12.
     Our all-volunteer Board of Directors works tirelessly to ensure that our mission of “assisting in the achievement of a superior public education system” is a reality for all students. If you are interested in getting involved in our schools, meeting new people, and making a real difference in our childrens’ education, please consider joining the AEF Board of Directors, or our volunteer group called ‘Friends of the Foundation.’ The Board of Directors meet once a month at the AEF Office, and help plan and implement AEF fundraising events, including the annual ‘Service to Education’ gala awards dinner, our annual Summer Academy/Summer High School program, and our Annual Fundraising Appeal. Please contact us for more information about getting involved.

2017-18 Executive Committee . . . .

Steve Perry
Born in Alhambra, Steve has always believed in giving back to the community, especially to kids. Steve joined the AEF Board in 2005 and became President in 2006. He truly believes all children should be given every available educational opportunity. AEF’s income and disbursements have quadrupled under his leadership. His five year old son attends Park Elementary and his wife Débora teaches at Garfield Elementary.

Cliff Bender
1st Vice President
Cliff and his wife, Lorran, are long time Alhambra residents. They have two adult daughters who have gone through, and graduated from Alhambra Unified School District. Cliff is a retired educator who worked 37 years in the Los Angeles Unified School District. He continues to fulfill his commitment to education by volunteering with the Alhambra Educational Foundation.

Julio Martinez
2nd Vice President
Julio has been a Member of the Alhambra Educational Foundation Board of Directors since 2015. He is married to Rocio, a second grade teacher at Northrup Elementary, and their three children attend Brightwood Elementary. Julio also serves as the Executive Director of the ScholarShare Investment Board, which oversees ScholarShare 529, a California’s state-sponsored college savings plan.
2018 Board of Directors . . .

Maria Chow-Kakazu
3rd Vice President
Director of Rehabilitation Services at Garfield Medical Center and Monterey Park Hospital since October 2005. Services include Outpatient Rehab, Acute and Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility.
Currently chair of wellness committee for the past 6 yrs, chair patient satisfaction team “ROCK IT” and serve on the Rewards and Recognition Committee. Also, Captain of Via Cycling team for the past 8 years.

Martin Ulloa
Martin Ulloa is a high school teacher with Independence High School working with high-risk students. He has held this position since 1991. Before working as a teacher, he was Director of Central Los Angeles SER-Jobs For Progress, Inc. The organization provided clerical job training to unemployed workers. He has served on the San Gabriel Fine Arts Association as President, and Alhambra Latino Association Board as President.

Carolyn Ortiz
Carolyn Murray Ortiz is an Administrator with the Strategic Planning and Training Program Office at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory where she has been employed for over 30 years. She obtained a Master’s Degree in Organizational Management at University of Phoenix in 2002. She attended Ramona school, graduated from San Gabriel High School, and married, for 23 wonderful years, a fellow SGHS grad, Raymond Ortiz.

Ed Aguirre
Ed retired from AUSD in 1998. He served as principal at Northrup, Ynez and Fremont schools during his Alhambra career. He joined AEF Board of Directors in 1998 and became their third President. After 5 years as President, he began AEF Summer Elementary Enrichment Academy and the Summer High School Program. Ed, a die-hard USC Football fan with tickets on the 50 yard line, has been married to Marsha for over 32 years.

David Duarte
AEF Board Member since 2017
• Community Volunteer
• Alhambra Little League president
• Alhambra Unified School District Parent
• Employed Mobile/Justice Brothers
   Petroleum Products

Shirley Gudal
I joined the AEF Board because this organization honored me as one of their “Service to Education” recipients in 2012. That was the year I was retiring from a 39-year career as a teacher and instructional specialist at William Northrup Elementary in the Alhambra Unified School District (AUSD). I believe in AEF’s efforts to support and enhance the educational programs and enrichment opportunities for all AUSD students in TK to 12th grade.

Steven Klein
Steven Klein joined the AEF Board of Directors in 2016. He is a prodigious blood donor, having donated over 14 gallons of his own blood. He has been recognized for his zeal by Cedars-Sinai Medical Center and the American Red Cross. Steven was appointed to the City of Monterey Park’s Traffic Commission in 2015 and serves as its chairperson. He was an LAUSD classroom teacher, faculty president.He is married to Fidelia Klein and living in Monterey Park.   

Jill Lee

Terri Luong

John Nunez

Dawn Rock

Alice Tan
Alice grew up and went to school in the Alhambra school district. She has two young kids 4 and 6. She loves to spend time with her family and believe Disneyland is truly the happiest place on earth. She is currently employed with Kaiser Permenante under IT finance for the last three years. She’s been very involved with the RIF ( Reading is Fundamental) program and has fallen in love with the mission.

Lorraine Tom
Lorraine Tom is a high school teacher librarian. She enjoys working with students and teachers.

Sophia Tsoi
Sophia a CPA moved to California from Hong Kong at age 13. I went to Schurr High School and graduated from USC with a B.A. in accounting. “I believe education is the foundation to success. I am grateful for the education I had, which enabled me to have a profession, and which enabled me to raise my two daughters as a single mother. My greatest leisure passion is golf. I also like reading, singing, cooking, scuba diving and traveling.

Dr. Marcia Wilson
Dr. Marcia Wilson is a Dean in the Pathway Innovation and Institutional Effectiveness Division at Los Angeles Trade-Technical College. Marcia has been actively involved in the community since she moved to Alhambra in 2000. She has served on the board of the PTA at both Emery Park Elementary School and Alhambra High School, serving as President at both schools for two non-consecutive terms.

Sharon Woo
Sharon has been an AEF Board Member since 2012. She grew up in Monterey Park and graduated from Brightwood Elementary and Alhambra High. Sharon received her BS in Biomedical Engineering from USC and her MS in Electrical Engineering with a minor in Computer Engineering from California State University Fullerton. She left the engineering world to become a full-time mom.